Skip to content


AOAP’S Aquatics Professional designation meets or exceeds the relevant standards outlined in CDC’s Model Aquatic Health Code

The Association of Aquatics Professionals (AOAP) and the Council for the Model Aquatic Health Code (CMAHC) announce the CMAHC certification of the AOAP Aquatics Professional designation (AqP), the only professional designation for members of the aquatics industry. This achievement promotes the health, safety, and wellness of the aquatics professionals who achieve an AqP designation and the aquatic facilities they serve.

The CMAHC certification program was launched in 2018 to help educate the public about products and services that meet the strict, science-based standards in the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Model Aquatic Health Code (MAHC). If followed, the guidance in the MAHC helps reduce the risk for disease outbreaks, drownings, and chemical injuries at public aquatic facilities. The CMAHC awards certification to services or products that comply with the relevant or applicable standards in the latest MAHC edition.

“The AOAP Board of Directors and Executive Director are proud to have received this certification for the AqP Designation and look forward to serving many aquatic professionals throughout the years to come in recognizing their passion and dedication to the field of aquatics.”

One of AOAP’s main goals is to assist in the recognition of individuals in the aquatic field as professionals. Their first step was the development of the AqP designation, which recognizes aquatic professionals who demonstrate a commitment to aquatic education, certification, and professional development. Aquatics professionals may apply to obtain the AqP designation based on a combination of education, experience and certifications. With an AqP designation, aquatics professionals join a group of outstanding experts who share a similar background and passion.

CMAHC certification is not a single occurrence. Rather, the intent is to build a long-term quality control partnership. After initial certification, the CMAHC re-evaluates each certified service or product annually to ensure it continues to meet the same high standards required in the MAHC in order to maintain certification. Services or products that earn a CMAHC certification are said to be “CMAHC certified” and may display the CMAHC certification emblem to demonstrate they have been evaluated for conformance with the requirements in the latest MAHC edition.

Posted in

Juliene Hefter

Juliene is the Executive Director/CEO of AOAP. She has a background in running and operating diverse aquatic facilities and venues and is a national and international speaker on a variety of topics. She is also an expert witness/consultant.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.